techNL Industry Awards Applications

techNL is launching the first-ever techNL Industry Awards to recognize the movers and shakers in the tech sector ecosystem in Newfoundland and Labrador. It is more relevant than ever to celebrate the sector after a challenging year which has been pivotal for many of us. 

Eligibility criteria 

  1. A company in the tech sector with a technology-based product, service, solution, system or platform
  2. NL-based
  3. techNL Member

1) Tech Company of The Year Award

This award recognises a company that has established itself as a leader in the NL tech sector. The prize winners excel in strategic, product or service development, diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives. They are widely recognised as pillars of the NL tech sector. To apply click here.

2) Champion of Youth Award 

This award recognises a company that makes an effort to employ youth/young adults as part of the staffing model and plays a valuable role in the community for positive youth development in the NL tech sector. To apply click here.

3) Women in Tech Advocate Award 

This award honors an individual, team, or organization/company in the tech sector that has gone above and beyond to encourage recruitment and retention of people who identify as women in tech and make a positive influence in diversity and inclusion. To apply click here.

4) Community Leadership Award

This award is given to an individual or business in the tech sector that has gone above and beyond to make a positive impact on their community through their contribution, commitment, and leadership in community engagement, mentorship, and/or charitable giving or volunteer work. To apply click here.

5) Genesis Startup of the Year Award

Sponsored by Genesis, this award honours an early-stage technology company (less than four years old) that has introduced something new to the market, is generating revenue, attracting talent, and creating significant excitement in the NL tech ecosystem. To apply click here.


  1. Call for nominations open: September 8, 2021
  2. Call for nominations close: September 24, 2021
  3. Selection process: September 24 to October 15, 2021
  4. Award ceremony to announce winners: October 21, 2021

Nomination Rules 

  1. Nominations must be submitted through the online form.
  2. Nominees may be awarded in multiple categories.
  3. Nominations will be reviewed by a Selection Committee. 
  4. A nominee’s supervisor, spouse, partner, or immediate family member
    may serve on the committee, but must abstain from discussion and
    voting on that nominee.
  5. You may self-nominate.

Please note if any of the application responses should remain confidential.
Unless otherwise noted, responses may be used to promote the winners.

Note:  All inquiries regarding techNL Awards should be directed to Habin Haridas at